If you’re wondering this very question, the short answer? You’ve violated our community guidelines.
The long answer? Read on.
We understand how frustrating it can be to log on to your Plenty of Fish account only to find that it no longer exists, but we also have to keep our platform safe and secure for our users, as well as ensure it’s being used for its intended purpose: to form real connections.
If you’ve discovered your account has been deleted and you’re unsure why this is, here are some of the main reasons this could have happened:
You’ve Used Rude, Discriminatory, Violent, or Otherwise Harmful Language
Plenty of Fish has a zero-tolerance policy for any abuse whether it’s in your profile or a message reported by another member.
If you’re found to be harassing, or disrespectful to other users, or you have content on your profile that is violent, rude, or abusive, you will be deleted and banned. Respect and kindness are very important to us, and anything less is simply unacceptable.
You’ve Posted Inappropriate Image(s)
This should go without saying, but nudity is a no-no on Plenty of Fish. Along with any nudity, images containing sexually explicit imagery, violence, criminal activity or discrimination will result in account deletion.
Additionally, if you’ve posted a photo in lingerie, underwear, shirtless or in a bikini out of context (ie in your bathroom) your account will be moderated and, depending on the image, could be deleted as well.
If you need tips on the do’s and don’ts of profile pictures, look here.
You’re Not Here for the Right Reasons
If you’re married, a minor, doing something illegal, or you’re promoting or soliciting sexual services, Plenty of Fish is not the place for you and your account will be deleted.
You’re Not Real
The final pillar of our standard conduct promise is to be real – something that’s so important that we’ve banned the use of face filters on our site and app. If your account has been deleted for violating this guideline, it can be for very literal reasons, or more figurative ones.
In the most literal sense – if you’re using Plenty of Fish to try and scam, spam, or impersonate someone else, your account will be deleted. This goes for creating multiple accounts as well, or trying to access or use an account that isn’t yours.
In a more figurative sense, we want your profile to show the real, genuine, you (because you’re great!). If you’ve posted photos on your profile that are heavily edited/filtered, don’t show your face, or simply aren’t you at all, it will likely result in deletion.
We want our members to enjoy a positive dating experience and to find like-minded individuals! If you follow our guidelines and remain respectful of others, your profile should remain safe and sound!
If you have any further questions about profile deletions, please ask away below and we will do our best to answer.